When editing an item (article, product, etc.) click Checkout to prevent other non-admin users from modifying the same item before changes have been saved. Once changes are completed and the item is SAVED, click Check In to allow other users to modify the item.
The current user can Lock an item to prevent anyone else (including the current user) from making changes until the item has been unlocked. The current user or any admin user can unlock the item.